flutterby butterfly

Just another WordPress.com site

mama thoughts and musings in the middle of the night. August 27, 2010

Filed under: Uncategorized — Sara Savel @ 12:18 pm

mama thoughts and musings in the middle of the night.

On Sunday, we went to John’s parents to spend the night so he could help his brother and sister in law move into their new apartment today.  They just moved back from Virginia after two long years away from home.

We had dinner last night and hung out watching tv before everyone went to sleep.  It was very nice to all be together and I’m glad for the opportunity to get to know my sister in law and brother in law as they moved South literally the day after I met them two years ago.  We’ve seen each other on Skype (on which I always feel awkward) or for holiday visits, but that is not the same as living 45 min away.

Today I had a doctor’s appointment and am grateful to my MIL for taking the baby today so I could focus on the visit with my doc and get some down time.

Sleep has been a struggle for me as of late.  Insomnia, panic attacks, bad dreams…sleep has not been very restful at all.  Then my energy is sapped during the day and I’ve been really unfocused, too.  Not fun when you have to take care of a baby and you feel like just picking him up is going to consume enormous amounts of energy.   When I am not feeling restless and unable to concentrate on a task, I feel like a weight is bearing down upon me and I am walking through a murky forest on a humid day.

Thankfully, the doctor’s visit was helpful.  We decided to start a new anti depressant and see how that goes.  The one I am currently on is incompatible with pregnancy and since we are going to start TTC next month, we decided to just change it now.  We also made some changes in my other medication which helps me sleep.  I am feeling optimistic, or at least trying to be that this will be a good combination for me.

I am reading a great book about which I was going to blog about tonight, but will save for Tues or Weds.

 

Leave a Reply

